Next Club Meeting: October 22, 2022, at the Fountaindale Public Library in Bolingbrook from 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

The Animatrix Network is an anime & manga fan club located in the Southwest suburbs of Chicago, Illinois. We usually meet on the third Saturday of each month (except when holidays or conventions coincide). The meetings are free and open to the public. Join us for a day filled with anime.

This site provides news, reviews, commentaries, and previews of the world of anime and everything it inspires, such as live-action films, comics, music, art, and other weird things to enjoy and contemplate.

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Miyazaki Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

L I F E T I M E   A C H I E V E M E N T   A W A R D
H A Y A O   M I Y A Z A K I
Born in 1941 in Tokyo, Japan.  After graduating from Gakushuin University in 1963 with a degree in Political Science and Economics, Hayao Miyazaki joined Toei Animation Company as an animator.  He worked under the director Isao Takahata for scene planning and key animation for the production of THE LITTLE NORSE PRINCE VALIANT (1968).  He then moved to the animation studio A Production with Takahata in 1971 where he worked on the original concept, screenplay, layout design and key animation for PANDA! GO PANDA! (1972).  Miyazaki worked at various studios including Zuiyo Eizo with Takahata, Nippon Animation, and Telecom, and did scene planning and layout designs for the TV series HEIDI, A GIRL OF THE ALPS (1974) and FROM THE APENNINES TO THE ANDES (1976), and directed his first TV series CONAN, THE BOY IN FUTURE (1978).  He debuted as a director of theatrical features with THE CASTLE OF CAGLIOSTRO (1979).  In 1984, Miyazaki wrote and directed his feature NAUSICAÄ OF THE VALLEY OF THE WIND, based on his original graphic novel serialized in the monthly animation magazine “Animage”.

Miyazaki co-founded Studio Ghibli in 1985 with Takahata, and has directed nine feature films since, including CASTLE IN THE SKY (1986), MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO (1988), KIKI’S DELIVERY SERVICE (1989), PORCO ROSSO (1992) and PRINCESS MONONOKE (1997).  SPIRITED AWAY (2001) broke every box office record in Japan, and garnered many awards, including the Golden Bear at the 2002 Berlin International Film Festival and the Oscar for Best Animated Feature Film at the 2003 U.S. Academy Awards.  HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE (2004) received the Osella Award at the 2004 Venice International Film Festival.  Miyazaki was awarded the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the 2005 Venice International Film Festival.  He wrote and directed PONYO ON THE CLIFF BY THE SEA (2008).  He contributed to the planning and wrote the screenplays for Hiromasa Yonebayashi’s ARRIETTY (2010) and Goro Miyazaki’s FROM UP ON POPPY HILL (2011).  In 2012, Miyazaki was named a “Person of Cultural Merit” by The Government of Japan.

Miyazaki has published a number of books of essays, drawings and poems, including “Shuppatsuten 1979-1996 (Starting Point: 1979- 1996, 1996)”.  He has designed several buildings, including the Ghibli Museum, Mitaka, which opened in 2001, for which he serves as Executive Director.  His new film, THE WIND RISES, opened in July 2013 in Japan.

TV Series
CONAN, THE BOY IN FUTURE (Mirai Shonen Konan), 1978

Feature Films
THE CASTLE OF CAGLIOSTRO (Rupan Sansei Kariosutoro no Shiro), 1979
NAUSICAÄ OF THE VALLEY OF THE WIND (Kaze no Tani no Nausicaä), 1984
CASTLE IN THE SKY (Tenku no Shiro Laputa), 1986
MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO (Tonari no Totoro), 1988
KIKI’S DELIVERY SERVICE (Majo no Takkyubin), 1989
PORCO ROSSO (Kurenai no Buta), 1992
PRINCESS MONONOKE (Mononoke Hime), 1997
SPIRITED AWAY (Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi), 2001
HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE (Hauru no Ugoku Shiro), 2004
PONYO ON THE CLIFF BY THE SEA (Gake no Ue no Ponyo), 2008
THE WIND RISES (Kaze Tachinu), 2013

Honorary Oscars presented to Harry Belafonte, Maureen O'Hara, 
Hayao Miyazaki
From left: Honorees Harry Belafonte, Hayao Miyazaki, Jean-Claude Carriere and Maureen O'Hara pose onstage during the Academy Of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences' 2014 Governors Awards, at The Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center on November 8, 2014 in Hollywood
[Source: CBSNews] LOS ANGELES - A constellation of stars gathered in Hollywood for an off-camera celebration of four stalwart film talents.

Reese Witherspoon, Jennifer Aniston, Steve Carell, Kevin Costner, Mark Wahlberg, Sidney Poitier, Ed Norton, Benedict Cumberbatch, Chris Rock, Eddie Redmayne, Ron Howard and Hilary Swank were among the celebrities toasting the first Oscar winners of the season at the film academy's Governors Awards Saturday night.

Actress Maureen O'Hara, filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki, screenwriter Jean-Claude Carriere and actor and activist Harry Belafonte accepted honorary Oscars at the private dinner ceremony at Hollywood & Highland's Ray Dolby Ballroom.

Jessica Chastain, Warren Beatty, Octavia Spencer, Jake Gyllenhaal, Mark Ruffalo, Robert Duvall, Robert Downey Jr. and Tilda Swinton, sporting a platinum faux-hawk, also attended the three-hour celebration.

Accepting the trophy, Miyazaki said through a translator that he considered himself lucky, adding, "My greatest luck is that I got to meet Maureen O'Hara today."

The 94-year-old O'Hara was introduced by Liam Neeson and Clint Eastwood, each of whom confessed to having a crush on the Irish-born beauty. Neeson described her as "one of the true legends of cinema" and "one of the most adventurous women who ever lived," explaining the actress was a pioneer in doing her own stunts on screen.
Actress Maureen O’'Hara accepts an Honorary Oscar from actors Clint Eastwood (2nd from right) and Liam Neeson (right) onstage during the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences' 2014 Governors Awards.
O'Hara came to the stage in a wheelchair and read a brief statement of thanks in which she acknowledged filmmakers Charles Laughton and John Ford, along with her co-star in several films, John Wayne.

When Neeson handed her the Oscar, she asked in disbelief, "What's this?!"

"I only hope it's silver or gold and not like a spoon out of the kitchen," she said.

Carriere accepted his Oscar from "The Unbearable Lightness of Being" director, Philip Kaufman. The French screenwriter lauded the many directors he's collaborated with over his five decades in film, saying, "They're always present, even today. When I'm working, I hear their voices."

Chris Rock and Susan Sarandon introduced Belafonte, who received the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for his decades of activism for social justice.
"I'm not here to honor you," Rock said. "I'm here to thank you."

Sarandon called the 87-year-old entertainer "a real-life, flesh and blood hero."

Belafonte said he was moved by the recognition.

"To be rewarded by my peers for my work for human rights, civil rights and for peace... It powerfully mutes the enemy's thunder," he said.

He shared the honor with Poitier, whom he referred to as "my elderly friend."

"He redirected the ship of racial hatred in American culture," Belafonte said.

He spoke of Hollywood's progress toward telling stories that offer "deeper insights into human existence," such as "Schindler's List," ''Brokeback Mountain," and "12 Years a Slave," and film's far-reaching ability to influence popular opinion.

"Maybe, just maybe, it could be civilization's game-changer," he said.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences established the Governors Awards in 2009 to celebrate the annual winners of its honorary awards. Highlights from the ceremony will be included in the 2015 Oscar telecast.

No comments:

Post a Comment